Signs of God – Personal testimony

My husband and I have recently moved cities and we’re staring from “zero”. Before marrying, we were praying for God to show us where we should live. We had an option of 4 countries that are far away from each other. So, during those months of prayer, God began “deleting” some places for various reasons such as jobs, high flight prices and visas, letting us know He wanted us to live in Brazil. But, Brazil is a big country and we wanted to know specifically where we should live. I was praying for God to show my husband (then fiancee) in a vision or dream where we should live because I felt that if He showed him, my husband would feel like more like a leader and head of the family. My husband then had a vision of a map and he drew out the map and sent it to me via Skype. (We were in a long distance relationship.) I then said I had no idea where that place was, and we’d have to look for it. We just knew it was close to water, which could be a lake, river or sea. So, we went on Google Maps and started searching for a similar place. My husband then sent me a link of a place that looked exactly like the one in his vision. The map was perfectly compatible. This is how we knew where we should live.

The city God wanted us to live was one I had never heard of and knew nothing about and knew nobody. About three weeks before the wedding ceremony we were still searching for a place to stay (someone’s house) in our new-city-to-be but nobody knew someone who could help us. It was crazy when someone asked us where we were gong to live at the wedding ceremony day and before that and we said we didn’t know yet, but we knew what city it was. A friend of mine then said she knew a guy from the city we were going to live in and added that she hadn’t spoke to him in 2 years but he was very cool and she was sure he could help. I added him on Facebook but he didn’t say he’d help us then, just a few months afterwards. He said we couldn’t stay at his house and put a request on his Facebook page asking if anyone had a spare room and his friend said he did, and that God told him he was going to help someone that needed a place to stay. All was arranged to stay with this friend of a friend of a friend about 1 week before moving! (This was already after we had married, when we were staying at my parent’s house.) Needless to say, as the days went passed, people asked us about where we would live and thought we were crazy! What was interesting was that when we said we were going to live somewhere we’ve never been and don’t know anyone from there, but we were going to stay in a friend’s friend’s house, many christians said it was a bad idea, that it was dangerous and naive and so on (even when we explained the vision), but many non-christians said it was awesome, adventurous and cool.

We finally moved in November 2013 and went straight to this friend of of a friend of a friend’s house. We stayed with him for a month before renting out a little house for us. During this time we were given so many things from different people we’ve never seen before, all with different reasons… We arrived here with just some clothes and an air mattress, but God used many people and now we have lots of things. We were given a wardrobe, a bed, a stove, chairs and table. God is so good! Each of these things were given to us in a miraculous way. We even found the house we are now renting in a miraculous way too. But if I keep typing all the wonders God has done I would write too much! We had to buy some things but God helped us to buy them really cheaply out of someone else or a second hand shop.

One thing that happened that impacted me a lot was that we were out of money and we didn’t know what to do because we had to pay the rent the next day. We needed exactly 100 reais (about 43 dollars) more to pay the rent. We went to a random church on Sunday and the pastor said that we had to learn to live in dependancy of God and that He would take care of us, but we had to have faith. (The pastor was preaching to all the people there but I felt that message was specifically for us.) We then went home and I felt very loved by God and knew He was going to perform a miracle. I slept in peace. That same day a friend called my husband saying he had something to give to us and so my husband met with him the next day. That friend then said a man from his church came up to him with 100 reais and said God told him to give it to him, but it was not for him but he would know who it was for. And this friend felt it was for us. And so he gave my husband the 100 reais that came from someone else. The exact amount we needed to pay the rent that day! God is so wonderful! I felt even more loved by God and knew that He was taking care of us.

Last month, I started working in a place that was not very good, because people kept bullying me, saying bad things behind my back, cursing me and God and lots of other bad things. I was not feeling well there. Lots of questions aroused in my head like, “Why is God allowing this to happen? Am I supposed to be here in this job?” Every day I was crying a lot and it was very difficult for me. I was asking God for a sign that I should leave that place or stay there, but felt very confused as if God wasn’t talking to me. I’ve asked God for signs before, but they have never been a specific request. In other words, I’d say something like, “God, please give me sign so that I may know if I should ____.” But I’ve never said, for example, “God, give me sign so that I may know if I should ____ and may that sign be ____.” So, I’d always leave what the sign was for Him to decide and when the sign came, sometimes it could be confusing if it was actually a sign from God, or just a coincidence, or maybe my interpretation of a normal event. One morning I woke up and felt an urge to cry out to God for a specific sign, for I wasn’t coping any more. I was kneeling beside my bed about to pray when a thought came about the birds I see every day. (Every day as I went to work, lots of birds would fly over me. There was not one day they didn’t do this.) I asked God to not make the birds fly over me that day if I was supposed to quit my job. I said this with lots of faith and determination. I left my house and guess what… not a single bird flew over me! I looked up to the heavens and thanked God. That same day I asked to leave my job. This was the first time I’ve ever asked God for a specific sign and He gave it to me.

Now I’m asking God for direction as to what I’m supposed to do. I’m looking for jobs but I’m not sure if He wants me to have a job or not. These days that I’ve been jobless have been a time for me to know God more, read the Bible and pray more. It also was good to be jobless as we’ve moved house again because the other house had too many rats and was falling apart. I know God has put my husband and I in this city for a divine purpose but we still don’t know why. All we did was obey. Now we are waiting for the next step we should take. If you feel in your heart, please pray for us. We don’t know what church community we should take part in either and this can be very confusing. The church we’re currently going to now doesn’t bring peace in my heart but my husband is tired of jumping from church to church every Sunday so that’s why we stayed there. I feel we should have a church-house group and am praying for confirmation about that still.

4 thoughts on “Signs of God – Personal testimony

  1. Beautiful and inspiring. I will be praying for you.

  2. rolerrol says:

    Hi.
    I am glad I stumbled onto your blog. The way you trust God is really inspiring. I will definitely pray for you and your husband. It is clear God has a plan for the both of you. Keep on trusting, keep on seeking Him! He has great plans in store! God bless you both…..
    Rolain.

Comment

